GPU upgrade

=IK=Doba==IK=Doba= Posts: 2,789Player
edited May 2015 in R&R
Should I upgrade my Gtx 780sc to a Gtx 970 gaming?

From everything I see the two cards are very similar..some benches give the 780 an edge others the 970.

My reason for maybe doing this is to see if it gets rid of my HUD issue.

BTW. I have ppl interested in my card and the difference would only be $35.
_____________________________
#Support Comp Mode

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCN4YhM6jUB2MxVj8i3b9rhw
«13

Comments

  • [ENG]Uni-Sol[ENG]Uni-Sol Posts: 3,184Player
    I don't know about the comparisons between the two, short of doing what your doing and checking review sites and benchmark results.. all I know is I'm planning on getting a 970, so I kinda hope they are good :mrgreen:
    If my trollery drives you crazy, you'd better put on your seatbelt.






  • .dcG-ccoR^.dcG-ccoR^ Posts: 84Player
    Seems like a lateral upgrade but new toys are fun to tinker with ;)
  • =<JGF>=Thijs4555=<JGF>=Thijs4555 Posts: 27Player
    i'm thinking to upgrade my notebook with a geforce 610M to a desktop with a gtx 970.
  • =IK=Doba==IK=Doba= Posts: 2,789Player
    exactly ccor.. not much of an upgrade in performance, but def. not a downgrade.. however it would be brand new where current is 2 yrs old now... and well to see if I can play with a HUD again without major stutters.

    cause when I run "stat unitgraph" the graph shows that my GPU spikes causing these stutters.. well there isnt much more I can try.. except to change out the GPU for another..
    _____________________________
    #Support Comp Mode

    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCN4YhM6jUB2MxVj8i3b9rhw
  • RoLLerFoShoRoLLerFoSho Posts: 23Player
    edited May 2015
    I don't know about the comparisons between the two, short of doing what your doing and checking review sites and benchmark results.. all I know is I'm planning on getting a 970, so I kinda hope they are good :mrgreen:

    I have a gigabyte 970 g1 gaming that i am very happy with although i only have 3.5gb of Vram its not 4gb
    I would suggest getting the 980 instead as it has the full 4gb unlocked. too add i did some test and at about the 3.2gb mark of vram it starts to slow way down its not actually at the 3.5 mark

    Other than that my 970 runs almost every game on ultra 1080p with 60fps (I have Vsync ON) except for GTA5 and Arma 3 but we know the reasons for that
  • Dem@nDem@n Posts: 564Player
    stick to what you have till christmas,thats the time when the new series hit the store
  • =IK=Doba==IK=Doba= Posts: 2,789Player
    yeah the 980 is on another level..with the price also.. not gonna happen when I can already hold 150 fps with some tweaks
    _____________________________
    #Support Comp Mode

    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCN4YhM6jUB2MxVj8i3b9rhw
  • frankoffrankof Posts: 1,009Moderator
    =IK=Doba= wrote: »
    cause when I run "stat unitgraph" the graph shows that my GPU spikes causing these stutters.. well there isnt much more I can try.. except to change out the GPU for another..
    Thats actually really "funny" as i have the same card and mine is almost idle.
    Do you have a dual screen setup?
    If so, run GPU-Z on the second monitor and check if the gpu clock is stable, it could be switching between "Boost" and "normal"

    ss_4_frankof.png
  • -=}WoLvErInE{=--=}WoLvErInE{=- Posts: 1,117Beta Tester
    I would suggest the 780sc 3gig over the 970 for sure. However, if you can afford 980 definitely get that.
  • IO_i_OIIO_i_OI Posts: 1,107Player
    I went from an AMD X2 64 with GTX 750ti sc to a Intel i7 4790k with GTX 960 ssc. The first gave me 45-70 FPS @ 1080 @ medium settings. The second gives me over 120 FPS (dont know how much over since I capped it) @ maximum settings. Now these benchmarks are for "this" game. I would get way higher FPS on the old and new GPU with other games.

    I think you should hold off on a upgrade for the Titan X when price comes down to $229. But if the difference for you is only $35 then I would say Yes. It costs me $35 to fill my tank a few months ago. Now it costs me $45.
    Anyway, you may get a 35 FPS increase. So is a dollar per frame rate worth it?

    Oh, I have no stutters with the 960 ssc.
    googley avatar aapg


  • =IK=Doba==IK=Doba= Posts: 2,789Player
    I dont see how your 4790K w/960 @1080p gets a stable 120.. theres no way.. Id need to see vids..

    cause my 4790K@4.6Ghz w/ 780sc (which is stronger than a 960) cant hold those numbers

    a 970 wont give me 35 FPS over the 780.. if it did I wouldnt be here asking .. id be all ove it lol
    _____________________________
    #Support Comp Mode

    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCN4YhM6jUB2MxVj8i3b9rhw
  • =IK=Doba==IK=Doba= Posts: 2,789Player
    edited May 2015
    frankof wrote: »
    =IK=Doba= wrote: »
    cause when I run "stat unitgraph" the graph shows that my GPU spikes causing these stutters.. well there isnt much more I can try.. except to change out the GPU for another..
    Thats actually really "funny" as i have the same card and mine is almost idle.
    Do you have a dual screen setup?
    If so, run GPU-Z on the second monitor and check if the gpu clock is stable, it could be switching between "Boost" and "normal"

    I do have a second monitor... Ill keep precision X on and see if anything moves when the problem occurs.
    .. and gpu-z too I guess
    _____________________________
    #Support Comp Mode

    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCN4YhM6jUB2MxVj8i3b9rhw
  • =IK=Doba==IK=Doba= Posts: 2,789Player
    edited May 2015
    reporting back.. nothing happens on both Precission X and nor GPU-z .. both stable.. but after 5 min the graph starts going crazy still ... ahjhhh

    FPS stay stable 150 even when the stutter starts
    _____________________________
    #Support Comp Mode

    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCN4YhM6jUB2MxVj8i3b9rhw
  • DELTATHUND3RDELTATHUND3R Posts: 123Moderator
    I have a SLI 970 beast and running a res of 3440x1440 and it plays like a beast
  • =IK=Doba==IK=Doba= Posts: 2,789Player
    Im wondering how much would AA benefit from a dedicated Physx card.. I know the GTX 650 pairs up very well with the GTX780 .. might be worth a shot.. can get 650's cheap these days..
    _____________________________
    #Support Comp Mode

    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCN4YhM6jUB2MxVj8i3b9rhw
  • IO_i_OIIO_i_OI Posts: 1,107Player
    edited May 2015
    =IK=Doba= wrote: »
    I dont see how your 4790K w/960 @1080p gets a stable 120.. theres no way.. Id need to see vids..

    cause my 4790K@4.6Ghz w/ 780sc (which is stronger than a 960) cant hold those numbers

    a 970 wont give me 35 FPS over the 780.. if it did I wouldnt be here asking .. id be all ove it lol

    120 FPS any map all day long. Check out my 1080p Super SS's on my Steam profile. If you need to know, on WT, all super-maxed settings, I get 185 FPS ... all day long. No oc-ing either.
    googley avatar aapg


  • =IK=Wonkss=IK=Wonkss Posts: 92Player
    IO_i_OI wrote: »
    =IK=Doba= wrote: »
    I dont see how your 4790K w/960 @1080p gets a stable 120.. theres no way.. Id need to see vids..

    cause my 4790K@4.6Ghz w/ 780sc (which is stronger than a 960) cant hold those numbers

    a 970 wont give me 35 FPS over the 780.. if it did I wouldnt be here asking .. id be all ove it lol

    120 FPS any map all day long. Check out my 1080p Super SS's on my Steam profile. If you need to know, on WT, all super-maxed settings, I get 185 FPS ... all day long. No oc-ing either.

    LOL that is funny...
  • =IK=Doba==IK=Doba= Posts: 2,789Player
    edited May 2015
    IO_i_OI wrote: »
    =IK=Doba= wrote: »
    I dont see how your 4790K w/960 @1080p gets a stable 120.. theres no way.. Id need to see vids..

    cause my 4790K@4.6Ghz w/ 780sc (which is stronger than a 960) cant hold those numbers

    a 970 wont give me 35 FPS over the 780.. if it did I wouldnt be here asking .. id be all ove it lol

    120 FPS any map all day long. Check out my 1080p Super SS's on my Steam profile. If you need to know, on WT, all super-maxed settings, I get 185 FPS ... all day long. No oc-ing either.

    No!!..wouldn't even get those numbers with a 970 let alone a 960
    _____________________________
    #Support Comp Mode

    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCN4YhM6jUB2MxVj8i3b9rhw
  • =IK=Doba==IK=Doba= Posts: 2,789Player
    970 in bound... well see how the numbers compare and if hud issue is magically fixed... Wonks thinks it's some power setting set wrong... but what does he know lol
    _____________________________
    #Support Comp Mode

    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCN4YhM6jUB2MxVj8i3b9rhw
  • .!.dgodfather.!.dgodfather Posts: 430Player
    I think you are a fool for spending money to improve this game specifically.
    Fragweiser Website
    Make AA Great Again!
Sign In or Register to comment.