Demo record questions...

I'm no expert but do we have server side demo record? Will this method take extra resources away from either the server or client that we need?

Is this better than a client side demo record? In demo record all I wanted was to record my own gameplay....

Is this recording everyone on the server?

Can we demo record on officials?
oK5CLZA.jpg

Comments

• .sauce.sauce Posts: 308Player
    Bada. All demos record everyone on the server. A clientside demo would produce the same demo as a server side demo, the primary difference being that a client side demo would START at your perspective (or at least it used to). That is actually the point of a demo, that it collects all data of the game and can then be replayed from any perspective. It is what makes highlight videos created from demos so great, being able to track bullets, switch cameras, etc etc. Basically, a demo contains no video or audio, just data. When you want to play it back, you have to do so in game, and then the game engine actually plays it as if it is playing a game. It does take some resources but nothing like video recording since it's just information, movements, inputs, etc.

That being said server side demos do make it significantly harder to get a demo if your intention is a highlight video or video editing. Right now it seems that the primary focus is match recording.
    Hello sir, excellent accuracy.

LETS GO PENS
    Right now no, only server side, so you would have to get the demo from the server owner. From what I understand clientside demos were a much heavier undertaking so they only did serverside to start since it was primarily implemented for match recording and AC.

LETS GO PENS
  • `xinoN`xinoN Posts: 359Player
    This way you can't claim you forgot to start your demo. Things will go smoother on disputes.
  • SacchoSaccho Posts: 1,577Player
    edited April 2015
    .sauce wrote: