Cognitive bias - When your beliefs get in the way of reality...

OICURMT!OICURMT! Posts: 161Beta Tester

I was on last night and heard a *LOT* of moaning about cheaters. While there were cheaters on last night, what I found interesting is that some people who were accused of cheating were, in fact, not.

This got me thinking of a post I authored a while back regarding attributes that go into gaming. In this vein, I thought I'd re-post my article here.

For those who look at this and think TL;DR and feel the need to say so, your comments are not really necessary as it only placing emphasis on how some are an indictment on the education system.

FYI: I'm an engineer and love data, analysis & interpretation. It was curiousity that led me to do some basic research into the topic below.

If you feel like contributing to the poll, please do so. If you feel like lying when you submit your poll numbers, then you are most likely one of the cheaters that people talk about... (think about it :anguished: ). Perform the reaction time test five times and post the average in the poll category...

Original POST on the TOG forums: April 23, 2017 (with minor edits)

I recently heard a lot of whining on the TOG AAPG server regarding people who "don't miss" so they much be hacking to "I shot you first" or "Take a hit!"... So I thought I do some research on the topic as it relates to the human ability, both physical and mental.

Everyone thinks themselves a G-O-D at the game, with most people who call out others basically suffering from the ultimate in Dunning-Kruger (see first post).

Let’s take a look at a few key parameters regarding gaming, in no particular order:

1. Reaction time
2. Accuracy
3. Health
4. Visual efficiency
5. Object recognition

I’ll present my argument and supplement with graphics and sources. I’ll also take the K.I.S.S. principle for our readers who would rather not be bored with the details.

Reaction Time